Masonic History

The historic structure was originally built in 1906 as a Masonic Temple. The four-story building offered up 40,000 square feet of floor space with a large auditorium on the fourth floor. The center played host to local Masons for more than 75 years.

80s Renovation

The Vandivort went through a large renovation in the 80s with most of the space divided into offices. Drop ceilings and drywall hid much of the building’s original beauty. During this time, the Vandivort was placed on the Springfield Historic Sites Register and the National Register of Historic Places. In recent years, the fourth floor served as home to the Springfield Contemporary Theater and the ballroom.

Re-Imagined As An Upscale Urban Hotel

Over a century later, Springfield natives John and Billy McQueary desired to be a part of the already-thriving revitalization movement in downtown Springfield. The McQueary brothers were looking to contribute back to the center city that served as home to the family business across 4 generations.

Recognizing that downtown Springfield boasts a robust arts, dining, nightlife and business scene, it was apparent that there was no place to stay for traveling professionals and vacationers who wanted an original Springfield experience. This need resulted in the idea to build an upscale boutique hotel in the heart of downtown.

Looking for a building with both history and character in a prime downtown location was an obvious choice. The McQueary brothers purchased the Vandivort building and began reclaiming the building’s history and original beauty while creating a thriving social and hospitality venue. Hotel Vandivort was born.